Please go to visitchester.com / visitcheshire.com where you’ll find lots of information about events and things to do in Chester & Cheshire.

Historic Chester

Here are some of our favourites in the City - most are just a short walk from Manderley!

1. Walk the City Walls
2. Boating on the Dee or a take a River Cruise to Eaton Gardens
3. A ghost tour or guided walk
4. Chester Zoo
5. Shops, restaurants, pubs and bars – and lots of them!
6. Chester Cathedral
7. The Amphitheatre, Roman Garden and Dewa Roman experience
8. Grosvenor Museum & Grosvenor Park
9. Race day at the ‘The Roodee’
10. The Meadows – ferry to The Red House pub in the Summer months

Cheshire

........Just a short drive, train or bus ride from Chester - something for everyone!

Heritage

- Anderton Boat Lift, Northwich www.andertonboatlift.co.uk
- Beeston Castle, Beeston www.english-heritage.org.uk
- National Waterways Museum, Ellesmere Port www.nwm.org.uk/ellesmere
- Salt Museum, Northwich www.saltmuseum.org.uk
- Stretton Water Mill, Stretton www.strettonwatermill.org.uk

Gardens

- Arley Hall & Gardens, Northwich www.arleyhallandgardens.com
- Cholmondeley Castle, Cholmondeley www.cholmondeleycastle.com
- Mount Pleasant Gardens, Kelsall www.mountpleasantgardens.co.uk
- Ness Botanic Gardens, Neston www.nessgardens.org.uk
- Tatton Park, Knutsford www.tattonpark.org.uk

Activities

- Walking, cycling, horse-riding www.discovercheshire.co.uk
- Chester Sailing Club www.chestersailing.com/
- Curzon Park Golf Club www.chestergolfclub.co.uk
- Delamere Loop for horse riders www.forestry.gov.uk/delamerehome
- Go Ape, Delamere Forest www.goape.co.uk
- Sandstone Trail Walk www.sandstonetrail.co.uk
- Offa’s Dyke National Trail www.ramblers.org.uk
- Loggerheads Country Park www.clwydiancountry.co.uk
- Cycling routes www.discovercheshire.co.uk
- Mountain Biking near Mold www.ridetheclwyds.com
- Motor Sports at Oulton Park, Tarporley  www.motorsportvision.co.uk/oulton-park

Science/Environment

- Catalyst Science and Discovery Centre, Widneswww.catalyst.org.uk
- Blue Planet Aquarium, Cheshire Oaks, Ellesmere Port www.blueplanetaquarium.com

Shopping

- Cheshire Oaks, Ellesmere Port www.cheshireoaksdesigneroutlet.com

Outside Cheshire NW England

Liverpool just 25 miles away by car, 45 minutes by train ..... Tate Liverpool,
The Albert Dock & Maritime Museum, Beatles Museum, Shopping at Liverpool 1
www.visitliverpool.com / www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk
Manchester 35miles from Chester by car, 1+ hour by train ...... the Lowry Gallery
Salford Quays, the Museum of Science & Industry, Manchester Art Gallery, shopping at the Arndale or Trafford centres www.visitmanchester.com

North Wales

North Wales is on Chester’s doorstep with Mold, Ruthin, Denbeigh & Langollen all within a
30 minute drive (see under activities above). An hour will take you to Conway and
Llandudno, with Snowdonia and Caernarvon a little further on.

See www.nwt.co.uk or www.visitwales.co.uk for information on the area and things to see and do.

Out & About

book online